The Weekly Broadcast

Our pick of the best new songs released today from around the globe. This week’s edition comes in at just over half an hour but covers an eclectic mix of music. Read on below to see our thoughts.

Words by Selina Mclean & Callum Fergusson

Fiendz YT – Reptile Child

This predictably in your face and aggressive song from Glasgow hard-hitters Fiendz YT enhances their reputation as one of the angriest and punchy punk bands in the Glasgow scene. The chaos is thrown in your face from the get-go, and the two-minute unrelenting whirlwind flies by and doesn’t let up, whipping up a frenzy until Prince Andrew admits to having a sweating problem.

Anabel Allum – Standing In The Way Of Control

Annabel has created her own stripped-back spin of this classic and even more impressive is the fact this song is almost unrecognisable from the original song by Gossip. She sculpts an uneasy and slow-building atmosphere in this song, one that grows progressively more eery, and only when the words in the repetitive chorus sink in do you realise this is a cover.

Conor Heafey – None of That Matters

This new song from Glasgow based singer/songwriter Conor Heafey brings in a lovely jangly guitar riff which transgresses right into the catchy chorus. Conor, who is no stranger to releasing calming and smooth singles, brings an upbeat addition to this week’s playlist with this majestic indie-pop song.

Joshua Grant – Lay Me Down

Edinburgh singer/songwriter is aiming for the stars and with his latest song it’s clear to his intentions are legit. The young artist who is clearly capable of writing a catchy chorus, and who supported Tom Walker last year, has released Lay Me Down which is a great addition to his growing collection of acoustic bops.

Sam Fender – Winter Song

Sam Fender’s take on the Lindisfarne ‘Winter Song’ is a beautiful new release from the Geordie man. His first release for a few months makes up for the lack of music and also tackles the poignant issue of homelessness this Christmas. We hope it’s not too long until Sam is back with more of his own music, but this certainly will make the wait easier.

Liam Gallagher – All You’re Dreaming Of

With all proceeds of this track going to Action For Children, not only does this serve as a festive treat to the ears but also supports a very worthy cause! The Oasis legend needs no introduction and neither does this lovely Christmas ballad!

Will Joseph Cook – Something To Feel Good About

Consistency is key with this indie sensation, hitting it out the park yet again with this delicious, infectious slice of pop! Following on from 2018’s “Sweet Dreamer” the tricky second album need not be a worry for Will. A coming of age chronicle covering everything from breakups to growing up, spun into feel-good classics!

DRIFT – The Isle of, Pt 2

You could never tire of the Paisley duo’s trademark hazy euphoric synth stylings, least not on this track serving as a mesmerising dedication to friendship and the Isle of Arran. The merging of vocals against harsh disjointed synth tones marry well for another stunning single from the two-piece. 

Phoebe Bridgers – If We Make It Through December

Phoebe Bridgers and Christmas covers are a match made in heaven and her 2020 offering is no exception! This year sees her take on a classic hit from the late, great Merle Haggard, with proceeds going to Downtown Women’s Centre. For three minutes of holiday-tinged melancholy, allow yourself this moment of calm. 

Arlo Parks – Caroline
Another beautiful ballad taken from her upcoming debut album, due for release in 2021, “Caroline” pairs the sweet soul stylings of her ever-heartbreaking lyrical storytelling and eased vocal for an understated classic which remains in your head long after it’s been played.